Italy’s hidden gems: the Aeolian Islands

An archipelago of 7 islands just off the coast of Sicily, Southern Italy. These 7 islands are referred to as the seven sisters of the Archipelago and in the year 2000 they were added to the World Heritage List. The 7 islands are:

Lipari, Panarea, Vulcano, Stromboli, Salina, Alicudi and Filicudi. They are all the holiday maker’s dream: stunning beaches, crystal clear waters, unspoiled nature. Lipari and Salina are the largest of the 7 islands. Panarea is the lively island, known for its nightlife. Alicudi and Filicudi are the more remote and peaceful islands.

Stromboli and Vulcano are connected by their link to prehistoric times, with their famous volcanos. Stromboli is one of the most famous active volcanos in the world and every day around 5pm she shows the world how alive she is !!

click here to watch our short video on the island of Salina and the Stromboli volcano: